problem with using FRP

04-Unexpected behaviour/errors
mai sayed

problem with using FRP

Post by mai sayed »

hello there

I'm studying something related to the use of FRP as a retrofit technique, but there is no effect while using it or not. and of course this not logical !!
i've tried it on a concrete shear walls and on a simple model of a column. if you removed the FRP nothing will change.
so those are my models and i wish to get an answer.
i'm using pushover analysis in the models.

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1eOqFZ ... fSQ2K_BvSM

thanx..
huffte

Re: problem with using FRP

Post by huffte »

Hi mai sayed. I cannot seem to replicate your results, even with your model. I ran your concrete column model with and without FRP wrapping on elements 1 nd 4. The results are very different in the two executions. I haven't fully studied your model to understand it. But the FRP wrap does seem to be having a significant effect.
Tim Huff
mai sayed

Post by mai sayed »

hi huffte.First I thank you for taking a look to my problem . but i need to know what exactly the significant effect that happen ?? because i didn't see any change in the pushover curve and that what it matters to me in my study.it seems to that neither the base shear or the displacement changes .
huffte

Post by huffte »