Stirrup Spacing for infrmFBPH Beams

02-Getting started with the modelling
Kreggy

Stirrup Spacing for infrmFBPH Beams

Post by Kreggy »

Good day. I am relatively new to using SeismoStruct, and structural modelling altogether, so your help is greatly appreciated.

I would like to ask if it is possible to model the stirrup spacing at different intervals for a infrmFBPH beam? If so, how can I possibly implement this? Within the Building Modeler facility, it seems that the transverse reinforcement that can be modelled should only be located at the start, middle, and end of span only.

Thank you.
z.gronti

Re: Stirrup Spacing for infrmFBPH Beams

Post by z.gronti »

Dear Kreggy,

You may subdivide the element and assign the proper transverse reinforcement.
Zoi Gronti
Seismosoft Srl.
seismosoft

Post by seismosoft »

You may also use the infrmFB element type, assigning sections with different reinforcement at the different integration sections of the element. Note however that all the sections need to have the same section type and the same dimensions.
Seismosoft Support
Kreggy

Post by Kreggy »

Thank you for answering my query. But I would like to clarify more on the premise of integration sections.

Suppose that I am to model this beam spacing below, and I subdivide it into two sections (left and right). Can you please explain how many integration sections should I create and why?

12mm dia – 1@50mm
12mm dia – 8@175mm
10mm dia – 2@300mm

And does subdividing the beam alter the configuration of longitudinal reinforcements for the left and right half (like the number of bars and sizes at the start, middle, end) that I previously inputted in the Building Modeler?
z.gronti

Post by z.gronti »

Dear Kreggy,

I am afraid that I need further clarifications to be able to help you.