Wall/Slab openings

05-Future developments & requests
Post Reply
Ralazem
Posts: 63
Joined: 08 Feb 2019, 02:38

Wall/Slab openings

Post by Ralazem »

Ability to create a wall opening in the middle of a slab.
User avatar
seismosoft
Posts: 1047
Joined: 06 Jul 2007, 04:55

Re: Wall/Slab openings

Post by seismosoft »

You can do this in the Building Modeller by creating the edges of the hole with the slab edges functionality.
One prerequisite is that at least one edge has no be adjacent to a beam.
Seismosoft Support
Ralazem
Posts: 63
Joined: 08 Feb 2019, 02:38

Re: Wall/Slab openings

Post by Ralazem »

In the building modeler, I am able to make an opening but once I create a project, the rigid diaphragm will span on top of the supposed opening space. What is the solution for this? Even in the 3d Model of the building Modeler the opening is in the correct place but once the project is created the slab will just span on top of everything.
User avatar
z.gronti
Posts: 701
Joined: 16 Oct 2013, 08:14

Re: Wall/Slab openings

Post by z.gronti »

Dear Ralazem,

Slabs are modelled in SeismoBuild as rigid diaphragms that connect the beams, columns and walls in their perimeter and as additional loads applied to the beams. If the created slab is supported on a specific beam, even if you have assigned an opening at the side of this beam, then the program will automatically contain this beam in the rigid diaphragm, but will decrease the additional loads applied to the beams by the amount that corresponds to the opening.
Zoi Gronti
Seismosoft Srl.
Post Reply

Return to “05-Future developments & requests”